Texas Sheet Cake

5 Aug

Texas Sheet CakeIt was just a few days ago I randomly started craving Texas Sheet Cake. I’ve been asked many times, “what is it? Why is it special?” Well, I don’t really know how to answer that. I don’t know how the recipe got started, all I know is it’s a childhood favorite of mine and I’m so very happy my mom shared her recipe with me!

Recipe

2 sticks butter
1 cup water
4 T. cocoa
2 cup flour
2 cup sugar
1/2 tsp. salt
2 eggs
1/2 cup sour cream
1 tsp. baking soda

In a large bowl combine sugar, flour, and salt; set aside. In a small sauce pan bring butter, water, and cocoa to a boil. Remove from head and add to dry ingredients; mix well. Add in sour cream, eggs, and soda; mix well until blended. Pour batter in a 17 1/4 x 11 1/2 x 1″ sheet pan that you have oiled and floured (greased). Bake at 375 for 20 minutes. **I did not have a sheet pan (FAIL!), so I used a regular 13×9 pan and it baked in the same amount of time.

Icing

1 stick butter
4 Tbsp. cocoa
6 Tbsp. milk
1 box powdered sugar, or 1 lb.
1 tsp. vanilla
1 cup coarsely chopped nuts (I love walnuts)

Combine butter, cocoa, and milk in small sauce pan and bring to boil. Mix with sugar, vanilla, and nuts until well blended. Spread over cake as soon as it comes out of oven! Let cool and DIVULGE IN THIS GLORIOUS CAKE!

I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t day dreaming of this right now, it’s currently in my fridge….. and I may or may not have already had 3 slices today.

 

One Response to “Texas Sheet Cake”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Enchilada Pie « Hillary From Scratch - August 6, 2012

    [...] I love cookies and cakes, but I’m also pretty good and coming up with tasty dinners! We had Enchilada Pie the other night and it was fantastic! There were many reasons I decided on a “pie” form, but the main reason was my baking dish (13×9) was already holding my Texas Sheet Cake. [...]

Leave a Reply

Chew Out Loud

Sweet. Savory. One Bite at a Time.

Baker on the Rise

one sweet recipe at a time

The Sugarlump

A collection of the sweet morsels in my life

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

